All About Me

This is me!

I am writing this post as Day One of The Daily Post Blogging 101 course. I know I’m a little late but I’m completely new to blogging and this seems like a great place to start! So here goes…

My name is Sophie, I am 22 years old and I live in the city of Manchester in the UK. By day I am studying for a PhD in Biochemistry but by night, and just about any spare second of my day, I am a Latin American  dancer. My passion is Latin American music and culture and I dance constantly, which can be embarrassing at times as I often get caught busting some shapes to the radio in the lab when I think no-one is watching!

I loved salsa music from an early age and went to my first salsa dance class at the age of 14. Despite the fact that this was with my Dad, who has the unfortunate medical condition of two left feet, I took to salsa straight away. 8 years later, I’m still going; there’s just something about the rhythm that I find iresistable! At university in Liverpool I started up the University of Liverpool Salsa Society which was loads of fun. Through teaching 3 classes a week mostly in Cuban salsa but also including  merengue, bachata, zouk and kuduro amongst others, I had found a way to share my experience and passion for dance with others and to this day the improvement and enjoyment of my pupils  is one of my proudest achievements.

Having moved to Manchester last summer I now just dance socially for the pure enjoyment of it, and what a fantastic city Manchester is to be a salsa dancer! Through this blog I hope to share with you my experiences of dancing in the North West along with dance tips, music and other interesting aspects of life in this vibrant city. I hope that this blog will be useful to fellow dancers and also to any  of you who are interested in trying salsa or letting some Cuban flavour into your lives. It would be great to hear from other dancers about your experiences of dancing where you live and any tips and tricks you may be able to share with me, as one of the joys of dancing is that you never stop learning!

Besos!

Sophie

 

3 thoughts on “All About Me

  1. Lhu Wen Kai says:

    Woah Salsa. Always wanted to try that but I have no one to attend classes with despite salsa being one of the most affordable dance courses in the world hahaha. Wow you’re already studying for your PhD at 22? Man you got the beauty and the brains. All the best for that aight! I look forward to knowing more about your life thru your future postings and all. Medical school is something that everybody here in my country of Singapore is crazy about LOL, except probably a minority of the population and me. I’m still curious about it though, having came from a science secondary school, like what goes on in there and stuff, so maybe you can post a bit about your life and journey there as well! You’re now followed :)

    Take care!

    • salsasophie says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! I’m sure I’ll include bits about my life along the way! You should ask around, in the UK most people turn up to a salsa class alone and find a partner when they get there and often the teacher will ask you to rotate partners throughout the class :) Ask around, that may be the case in Singapore too and it’s a great way to meet new people! Thanks for the follow!

  2. Dominic says:

    My wife and I gave a salsa class a go when we were in Colombia last year. Really enjoyed it but we haven’t got round to trying it again since being back in the UK! Not really sure when we’d use it! I’m interested in what music you are into though, particularly cuban, I listen to Rodrigo y Gabriela who did a CD with C.U.B.A. (from Cuba… obviously…) and also play some music along those lines but not sure what else to listen to!

Leave a Reply

